El Lute II, Mañana seré libre

El Lute II, Tomorrow I'll be Free
by Vicente Aranda
Country: Spain
Year: 1988
Duration: 128'

On the night of December 31st, 1971, Eluterio, known as “El Lute,” escapes from the Santa Maria prison with the help of the brothers Toto and Lolo. He hides in his family home along with his sister Esperanza, his sister-in-law Marìa and her children. The group thus begin to flee throughout Andalusia, avoiding the Guardia Civil and using false identities, even robbing a bank in order to survive. El Lute meets the young, gypsy Frasquita and decides to marry her, but the continuous squabbles among the woman makes it increasingly difficult to avoid the Guardia Civil. Their escape ends when Eluterio is once again arrested and taken to prison.

“I much prefer this second part to the first because, starting with a much less flashy argument, I was able to create a much more complex screenplay.” (J. Jordá)


film director

Vicente Aranda

Vicente Aranda (Barcelona, 1926) during the early 1960s with Fata Morgana (1965) he became part of the School of Barcelona. In 1976 he directed Cambio de sexo, which marked the beginning of his collaboration with the actress Victoria Abril and introduced the themes of passion and eroticism, a constant in his most successful films: Amantes (1991), El amante bilingüe (1993), and La mirada del otro (1998). He made a name for himself with his cinematographic transpositions of Spanish novels and short stories – the two films dedicated to the bandit El Lute were great national successes – and in 2001 he inaugurated a trilogy of costume dramas, Juana la Loca (2001), Carmen (2003) and Tirante el Blanco (2006).


Fata Morgana (1965), La novia ensangrentada (Un abito da sposa macchiato di sangue, 1972), Cambio de sexo (Cambio di sesso, 1977), Tiempo de silencio (Il tempo del silenzio, 1986), El Lute, camina o revienta (El Lute, o cammina o schiatta, 1987), El Lute II, mañana seré libre (1988), Amantes (Amantes - Amanti, 1991), El amante bilingüe (L’amante bilingue, 1993), La mirada del otro (Lo sguardo dell’altro, 1998), Juana la Loca (Giovanna la pazza, 2001), Carmen (Per amare Carmen, 2003), Tirante el Blanco (2006)