by Orson Welles
Country: France, Italy, GFR, Yugoslavia
Year: 1962
Duration: 118'

One morning, bank clerk Joseph K. is awoken by two policemen, who
tell him that he is soon going to go to trial. The man agrees to appear
before the supreme court and accuses the judges of plotting against
normal people. But nobody seems to fall in with his rebellion against
the corrupt system. K. finds himself increasingly isolated and loses
himself in the maze of a court populated by strange lawyers and other
odd characters until the inevitable sentence is carried out.

“K. belongs to something that represents evil and, at the same time
is part of him. He is not guilty as accused, but he is guilty all the same
because he belongs to a guilty society and he collaborates with it.
I didn’t please the ending of the book. To me is a sort of ballet written
by a Jewish intellectual before the advent of Hitler. Kafka wouldn’t have
written that after the death of six million Jews. It all seems very much
pre-Auschwitz to me. I don’t want to say that my ending was good, but
it was the only solution.”


film director

Orson Welles

Orson Welles (Kenosha, WI, USA, 1915-Hollywood, CA, USA, 1985) is considered one of important and brilliant filmmakers and actors in the history of cinema, theater and radio (his famous prank and radio adaptation of the sci-fi piece The War of the Worlds generated widespread panic in the United States). He became a film-phenomenon with Citizen Kane (1941), which he made when he was only twenty-five years old, and is still widely considered one of the fundamental movies from the 20th century. He made many important films throughout his long and troubled career, which include The Magnificent Ambersons (1942), The Lady from Shanghai (1947), Mr Arkadin (1955), Touch of Evil (1958), and the Shakespearian adaptations of Macbeth (1948), Othello (1952), and Falstaff (1965). He won several awards, including the Palme d’Or for Othello in 1952, the Golden Lion and the Academy Honorary Award in 1970.


Citizen Kane (Quarto Potere, 1941), The Magnificent Ambersons (L’orgoglio degli Amberson, 1946), The Stranger (Lo straniero, 1946), The Lady from Shanghai (La signora di Shanghai, 1947), Macbeth (id., 1948), Othello (Otello, 1952), Mr Arkadin (Rapporto confidenziale, 1955), Touch of Evil (L’infernale Quinlan, 1958), Falstaff (id., 1965), Histoire immortelle (Storia immortale, 1968).


& Credits

regia, sceneggiatura/
director, screenplay
Orson Welles
Orson Welles
dall’omonimo romanzo di/
from the novel of the same
title by Franz Kafka
Edmond Richard
montaggio/film editing
Yvonne Martin
production design
Jean Mandaroux
costumi/costume design
Hélène Thibault
Jean Ledrut
Guy Villette
interpreti e personaggi/
cast and characters
Anthony Perkins
(Joseph K.),
Jeanne Moreau
(Marika Burstner),
Romy Schnider (Leni),
Elsa Martinelli (Hilda),
Suzanne Flon
(la signorina/Miss Pittl),
Madeleine Robinson
(la signora/Mrs Grubach),
Orson Welles
Akim Tamiroff (Bloch),
Arnoldo Foà
Fernand Ledoux
(il cancelliere/Chief Clerk
of the Law Court),
Michael Lonsdale
(il prete/Priest),
William Chappell (Titorelli)
Alexander Salkind,
Michael Salkind
Paris-Europa Productions,
Hisa-Films, FI.C. IT